Forums

Bloodstock & Breeding

Welcome to Live View – Take the tour to learn more
Start Tour
There is currently 1 person viewing this thread.
Frankelampard
06 Feb 16 17:59
| Topic/replies: 87 | Blogger: Frankelampard's blog
I'm new to the bloodstock world and still earning, I'm really enjoying reading about pedigrees and how certain blood lines mix well with others etc. However, one question I have for any expert out there is this. Where exactly does the division between being flat or jumps bred come into it? Is it that the sire has provided a lot of jumps winners or is it down to the dam? For instance, Kings Theatre was a flat horse but seemed to be used for jumps horses. Another scenario, when Annie Power heads off to the breeding sheds, if she were to be covered be Galileo would that be a jumps or flat bred horse?
Pause Switch to Standard View Flat bred or NH bred?
Show More
Report Frankelampard February 6, 2016 6:00 PM GMT
*still learning
Report Big Black Cat February 7, 2016 11:02 PM GMT
Frankelampard, I am no breeding expert-a bit like you I am an enthusiastic followerof bloodlines, but here goes and hope it may help.

Most horses successful in the NH world are geldings.  There are some notable exceptions (Champion Hurdle winners such as Alderbrook and Royal Gait were entire horses IIRC).

So to breed NH horses, stallions would usually be horses who were stayers on the flat, or have staying pedigrees.

So horses like Kayf Tara (won the Ascot Gold Cup on the flat) and Kings Theatre (won a King George on the flat) Presenting (placed in an Epsom Derby) have/have been NH sires, as they impart more stamina than speed into the breed.