Forums
Welcome to Live View – Take the tour to learn more
Start Tour
There is currently 1 person viewing this thread.
onlooker
25 Jul 15 14:47
Joined:
Date Joined: 18 Feb 03
| Topic/replies: 36,905 | Blogger: onlooker's blog
How are they going to decide on all the other - 'was it/wasn't it - STALLS scenarios, in future.

Isn't this the FIRST time that a horse who was IN the Stalls, has been deemed a NON-Runner?
Pause Switch to Standard View Have the BHA now set a precedent ? -...
Show More
Loading...
Report millhouse July 25, 2015 3:49 PM BST
Nice Rule 4 though - the extra bookmaker profit is 'good for racing'...
Report basilbrush July 25, 2015 3:53 PM BST
It is a precedent, never been done before as I far as I can remember. Came under orders, then authorised as a non runner. Strange decision.
Report GEORGE.B July 25, 2015 3:59 PM BST
They will be summoned to BHA HQ and flogged to within an inch of their lives over that decision - the BHA's bookie masters will NOT be happy!
Report Aviboyd July 25, 2015 4:02 PM BST
Despite all the 'wrongs' of what happened the horse has to be a runner imo.  They have now created a non-runner 'grey area' concerning horses that come under starters orders but don't race...
Report clacton July 25, 2015 4:03 PM BST
When are they deemed 'under orders'. Does anyone know
Report Oceanfinance July 25, 2015 4:03 PM BST
any replay of incident?
Report clacton July 25, 2015 4:04 PM BST
Once a horse is in the stalls surely he has to be under orders.
Report Keefter July 25, 2015 4:05 PM BST
I remember the rules changing a few seasons ago to allow for this, I think there was one other that was declared a NR under similar circumstances that first season.
Report Oceanfinance July 25, 2015 4:05 PM BST
of course
Report Aviboyd July 25, 2015 4:06 PM BST
Horses can enter the stalls and be withdrawn not under starters orders.  Starters orders is when the starter raises his flag is it not?
Report adamski July 25, 2015 4:06 PM BST
Horses don't come under orders any more, the key thing here is was the weighed in signal given prior to declaring the non runner. The race was down as weighed in on RP & SL before the announcement.
Report Racingqueen July 25, 2015 4:07 PM BST
i backed fav and its terrible decision.
Report Oceanfinance July 25, 2015 4:08 PM BST
keefter's point rings a bell
Report asparagus July 25, 2015 4:11 PM BST
It's undoubtedly a ridiculous decision. As was said earlier it's another grey area now and bound to be inconsistencies.
Report Barton Bank July 25, 2015 4:12 PM BST
They also set a precedent when they allowed a result at Worcester to stand a few years ago when the winner had weighed in light.
Report GEORGE.B July 25, 2015 4:13 PM BST
I understood the rule to be that the jockey had to be completely off the horse when the gates opened.

So the rule was written to ensure horses were extremely rarely called a NR, as 999 times out of 1000 the jockey will be maintaining some sort of contact with the horse as the stalls open.
Report never bend July 25, 2015 4:18 PM BST
The stewards' decision is perfectly correct.  Tattersalls, who are the arbiters of the rules of racing, state that if a punter cannot win, he cannot lose.  When the stalls opened, Spencer was not on the horse (he was still standing on the superstructure), therefore the punter could not win.  It is perfectly rational and straight forward.  There are no 'grey areas'.  If you disagree, read the rules.
Report Aviboyd July 25, 2015 4:19 PM BST
never bend - you need to swat up on the rules of Stewards Enquiries and the 'weighed-in' signal imo...
Report broadsword July 25, 2015 4:23 PM BST
gets on ruk to moan about £600 ffs.....get back to work
Report elise July 25, 2015 4:23 PM BST
when did they call the enquiry, after the weighed in was announced?
Report Facts July 25, 2015 4:24 PM BST
never  bend is correct
Report HowTheMightyFall July 25, 2015 4:24 PM BST
stfu broadsword, the guy on RUK was right!
Report howard July 25, 2015 4:26 PM BST
Yes. The on-course bookies never pay double-result either. I never bet with them.
Report sisyphus July 25, 2015 4:27 PM BST
Rule 57, stewards make it up as they go along....
Report Aviboyd July 25, 2015 4:27 PM BST
Facts
25 Jul 15 16:24

never  bend is correct

If that is right then every punter who has bet 1000 on an impossible outcome on here should be able to demand a refund...
Report carrot1960 July 25, 2015 4:28 PM BST
The result or non runners cannot be altered after the weigh in , end off
Report clacton July 25, 2015 4:28 PM BST
Spencer should have been on the horse.What was he doing
Report clacton July 25, 2015 4:30 PM BST
He had the same chance to come out as all the other ruynners. Blame Spencer
Report clacton July 25, 2015 4:30 PM BST
runners
Report Facts July 25, 2015 4:30 PM BST
Letting the stall handler try and get Spec Bids head off the side of the stall
Report Facts July 25, 2015 4:31 PM BST
So no he didn't have the same chance to come out with the others. That's why it's been deemed a non runner !
Report clacton July 25, 2015 4:33 PM BST
Was a runner when the 'weighed in' was given.
Report mmmalushka July 25, 2015 4:41 PM BST
Fast picture thieves not happy because they laid a horse that could,nt win,have you not heard of the "cant lose cant win" rule that the BHA sould be implementing.
Report TiptheOdds July 25, 2015 4:43 PM BST
About time they started deeming more horses non-runners imo.

I remember backing a horse big time with Fallon up - I think it was at Newbury - when the starter let them go while Fallon was still sitting on the frame of the stalls.
Post Your Reply
<CTRL+Enter> to submit
Please login to post a reply.

Wonder

Instance ID: 13539
www.betfair.com