Forums

Bloodstock & Breeding

Welcome to Live View – Take the tour to learn more
Start Tour
There is currently 1 person viewing this thread.
brain dead jockeys
23 Nov 16 23:30
| Topic/replies: 4,915 | Blogger: brain dead jockeys's blog
there have been a number of letters to the racing post in recent weeks about this issue.............below is the link to the latest letter

http://bloodstock.racingpost.com/news/bloodstock/letter-stallions-being-judged-too-early/2198587/top/

im not a bloodstock expert but i notice a few things........
1. OWNERS OF A DERBY WINNER WILL SEEK TO WIN A 10F G 1 AS A PRIORITY.
2. NO ONE HAS ANY INTEREST IN BREEDING A STAYER...........ALL LEGER RUNNERS ARE G2 OR G3 12F HORSES AND WERE BRED FOR A MILE TO MILE HALF..........I CANT NAME A SUPERSTAR THAT WON THE LEGER.........NIJINSKY WAS A LONG TIME AGO
3. JOHN GOSDEN WAS ADAMANT THAT GOLDEN HORNS BEST TRIP WAS 10F NOT 12F..............DONT THINK SO JOHN, HIS DERBY AND ARC WINS WERE ELECTRIC..........12F WAS HIS BEST TRIP...........NICE STALLION ADVERTISING
4. A O BRIEN HAS HAD SO MANY G1 12F HORSES BUT HE IS ALWAYS ADAMANT THAT THEY ARE EQUALLY AS GOOD OVER 10F DESPITE FORM BOOK SAYING OTHERWISE
5. THE KING GEORGE IS NOW WAY BEHIND THE JUDDEMONT AND IRISH CHAMPION STAKES IN TERMS OF PRIORTY

So what are the ruling classes going to do about all of this? heres a few suggestions

1. There are two races in the UK beyond 12f..............the leger and the ascot gold cup.............so a breeder is expected to be able to breed a horse that stays 1m 6f and 2m 4f..............HOW THE HECK DOES THAT WORK? the ascot gold cup should be 2miles. end of story. thats one simple adjustment that might make a difference. what on earth is the point of a flat race beyond 2 miles?
2. All these g1 two year old races............no need.............lets downgrade the middle park and phoenix stakes from g1 to g2..............no more easy pickings for two year olds to be advertised as g1 winners