Welcome to Live View – Take the tour to learn more
Start Tour
There is currently 1 person viewing this thread.
17 Aug 20 18:32
Date Joined: 08 May 10
| Topic/replies: 267,118 | Blogger: GRANTCKING's blog
just watched this on bbc iplayer, would def recommend it to anyone who hasnt seen it yet, very good
Pause Switch to Standard View The Crucible: 40 Golden Snooker Years
Show More
Report GRANTCKING August 17, 2020 7:35 PM BST
Report GRANTCKING August 17, 2020 7:35 PM BST

Report peckerdunne August 17, 2020 9:17 PM BST
Bookmarked, cheers G.
Report GRANTCKING August 17, 2020 10:17 PM BST
its available for only the next 27 days if you didnt notice that peck Grin
Report Angoose November 18, 2020 6:49 PM GMT
44 World Championships have been played at The Crucible.
The first two finals were best of 49 frames, the third was best of 47, all since 1980 have been best of 35.

Just 3 of the 44 finals have gone to the last frame, whilst the biggest drubbing was 18-3.
The most frequent scoreline has been 18-12, occurring on 7 occasions, 2 of which were victories for Stephen Hendry, 1 a defeat.

The first World Championship at The Crucible was in 1977.

Just two years earlier, the championship had been played in Australia, the final being played at the Nunawading Basketball Centre in Melbourne.

1927 was the first year of the snooker World Championship.
It was won by Joe Davis, as were the next 13 editions through to 1940.

There was no tournament for the next 5 years, but normal service was resumed in 1946, Joe Davis winning the last of his 15 titles.

Fred Davis lost in the 1947 final to Walter Donaldson, but was to reverse the result the following year, going on to win 7 of the next 9 titles through to 1956.

John Pulman had lost in both the 1955 and 1956 finals to Davis, but overcame Jackie Rea in 1957 to pick up hist first title.
Remarkably, there was to be no world championship for the next 6 years due to a lack of interest.

Upon its resumption in 1964, Pulman accumulated a further 7 consecutive titles, although these were challenge matches rather than full championships.

Two of these matches were played in 1964, 3 in 1965, 1 in 1966, and the last in 1968.

The following year saw the resumption of a full championship, John Spencer beating Gary Owen 37-24 in the final.

This was the beginning of the modern era of snooker, a further 7 tournaments being played at various venues prior to the first use of The Crucible in 1977.

Five of these championships were won by Ray Reardon, Spencer picked up his second, and Alex Higgins won his first.
Spencer would go on to win his third and final title at the 1977 debut of The Crucible.

The rest, as they say, is history.
Report peckerdunne November 18, 2020 7:29 PM GMT
The rest, as they say, is history.

As is Grant unfortunately.
Post Your Reply
<CTRL+Enter> to submit
Please login to post a reply.


Instance ID: 13539