Forums
Welcome to Live View – Take the tour to learn more
Start Tour
There is currently 1 person viewing this thread.
jamesdean
06 Sep 20 14:58
Joined:
Date Joined: 15 Sep 05
| Topic/replies: 20,110 | Blogger: jamesdean's blog
in memory of willy shafter

stands best horse won
Pause Switch to Standard View stewards fontwell
Show More
Loading...
Report wondersobright September 6, 2020 3:58 PM BST
turned around imo
Report jamesdean September 6, 2020 3:59 PM BST
possibly tbf
Report OVERSEAS September 6, 2020 3:59 PM BST
no play from me -- can see both sides -
Report wondersobright September 6, 2020 3:59 PM BST
2 bits of interference in total probably cost 1l+ imo
Report Scamp the man September 6, 2020 3:59 PM BST
Betting will be interesting ...if they open it
Report loper September 6, 2020 4:00 PM BST
Always allow results to stand if interference happens at a fence.
Report Latalomne September 6, 2020 4:00 PM BST
First bit was a "racing incident", second, don't think the leader has to give the second horse the rail, does it?
Report jamesdean September 6, 2020 4:00 PM BST
why aint they opened the market ffs, surely been called
Report OVERSEAS September 6, 2020 4:01 PM BST
agree latalomme
Report jamesdean September 6, 2020 4:01 PM BST
tht would be closer than 3's on, 2's on to keep at best
Report skiptoomaloumacari September 6, 2020 4:03 PM BST
no way you could argue the 2nd would of certainly won with clear run...........result stands.
Report jamesdean September 6, 2020 4:04 PM BST
looking at it again i think the 2nd wdve won
Report wondersobright September 6, 2020 4:04 PM BST

Sep 6, 2020 -- 10:04AM, jamesdean wrote:


looking at it again i think the 2nd wdve won


snap

Report Jay Lewis September 6, 2020 4:05 PM BST
Surely should be a lot closer in the betting here.
Report tyred September 6, 2020 4:06 PM BST
Fitzy thought it'd get disqualified so pile on the winner Crazy
Report blunder September 6, 2020 4:08 PM BST
Cant believe its 1.31 to keep it.Much closer IMO.
Report loper September 6, 2020 4:08 PM BST
Fitzy wouldn't have a clue what the rules are. He was only a jockey!
Report ashleigh September 6, 2020 4:11 PM BST
j burke hardly confident.Surprised
Report wondersobright September 6, 2020 4:11 PM BST

Sep 6, 2020 -- 10:08AM, loper wrote:


Fitzy wouldn't have a clue what the rules are. He was only a jockey!


Laugh

Report jamesdean September 6, 2020 4:11 PM BST
they seem to KNOW this will stand
Report tyred September 6, 2020 4:11 PM BST
won by nearly a length, they don't disqualify for anything more than a nose !
Report jamesdean September 6, 2020 4:11 PM BST
Plenty big lumps to stand 1.25 and below
Report wondersobright September 6, 2020 4:12 PM BST
twice lumps been taken jd
Report CustomCut September 6, 2020 4:12 PM BST
Hard to argue the second would have won and if you chuck it you're essentially chucking a horse because it made a jumping mistake. Everything the winner did outside of jumping the fence was fine.
Report wondersobright September 6, 2020 4:12 PM BST
winner taken down to 1.1x in stewards albeit briefly
Report wondersobright September 6, 2020 4:13 PM BST
5/2 now
Report jamesdean September 6, 2020 4:14 PM BST
prices getting nearer what they should be imo
Report wondersobright September 6, 2020 4:14 PM BST
getting closer to the right prices imo
Report jamesdean September 6, 2020 4:15 PM BST
4/6 now, yep
Report wondersobright September 6, 2020 4:15 PM BST
7/4 now we're talking...I'm out of this
Report scoobytoo September 6, 2020 4:17 PM BST
prices only altered due to what J BURKE said
Report wondersobright September 6, 2020 4:18 PM BST
pretty obvious to anyone with a brain & a working pair of eyes this was never a 4 on chance to keep it
regardless of whether it does or not
Report wondersobright September 6, 2020 4:20 PM BST
revised Laugh
Report sadlers September 6, 2020 4:20 PM BST
why take so long with this?
Report ALIEN SEX FIEND September 6, 2020 4:21 PM BST
Wonder spot on. Sometimes a horse can keep/lose a race, however the right price is the right price.  If he was on a bigger price on the last would have chanced it.
Report loper September 6, 2020 4:25 PM BST
Can someone please post the official report stating the stewards reasoning for changing the result, please.

Because if it is as a result of the bumping at the last fence then a precedent has been set which will result in confusion in the future and appeals to a higher authority will be the result.
Report sadlers September 6, 2020 4:40 PM BST
has to be for interference after the last surely,if it was for the jumping across at the last they need to take a long hard look at themselves.The backers of the eventual winner are very fortuneate imo.
Report brians September 6, 2020 4:41 PM BST
Can't see this, the horse werved naturally at the last, no intent. The jockey has no obligation to give up the rail and actually won by an increasing length.
Baffled. I didn,t have a bet so looking at it neutrally. I did back Marquand at Goodwood when Ryan Moore,s horse “ swerved “ and nearly put him over the rail. Result stood. Many since where there has been bumping and intimidation and even though there was a head in it at the line , result stood.
who could say for sure... that the second would have won ???  Nonplussed.
Report sadlers September 6, 2020 4:48 PM BST
yes stupid decision
Report Latalomne September 6, 2020 5:04 PM BST

Sep 6, 2020 -- 10:25AM, loper wrote:


Can someone please post the official report stating the stewards reasoning for changing the result, please.Because if it is as a result of the bumping at the last fence then a precedent has been set which will result in confusion in the future and appeals to a higher authority will be the result.


Still not published it

Report hulk23 September 6, 2020 5:10 PM BST
they saw shafter wanting 20 grand on the fptp & thought we're having that ....
Report Macintoshmatty September 6, 2020 5:15 PM BST
well I've had the double up
Like Brians I was on Marquand at Goodwood, thought he would have won given a clear run but accepted the result given the new interpretation of the rules
Today I was on the Sherwood horse and expected it to keep it, interesting to see why they've thrown it out, must be for interference after the last but thought the best horse won and that the 2nd went for a gap that wasn't there and the jockey made the most of it.

I'll let you know when I get the treble up!!
Report Wesdag September 6, 2020 5:16 PM BST
gone home
Report Latalomne September 6, 2020 5:24 PM BST
Race 6 - 3:50pm
THE FINAL FURLONG PODCAST NOVICES' HANDICAP STEEPLE CHASE (CLASS 4) (GBB RACE)

An enquiry was held to consider the placings in this race after 2 incidents of interference from jumping the last when the winner, PONTRESINA (IRE), ridden by Jonathan Burke, interfered with SCHNABEL (IRE), placed second, ridden by Bryan Carver. The Stewards considered that the interference had improved PONTRESINA (IRE)’s placing as the momentum and ground lost as a result of both incidents was greater than the finishing margin of ¾ lengths and revised the placings as follows: First: SCHANBEL (IRE), Second: PONTRESINA (IRE), Third: BUSTER EDWARDS (IRE), Fourth: ROSSERK ABBEY (IRE). The first incident was found to be accidental as PONTRESINA (IRE) jumped sharply left beyond Burke’s control heavily bumping SCHNABEL (IRE) off its intended line. For the second incident, Burke was suspended for 2 days for careless riding as he was inattentive, angling his mount left towards the rail causing Carver to become tight for room and having to take a check off heels and switch around Burke.

The Stewards wished to hold an enquiry into the running and riding of ROSSERK ABBEY (IRE), ridden by Shane Quinlan and trained by Kevin Bishop, but were unable to do so as Quinlan had left the course. The Stewards heard initial evidence from the representative of Bishop and received a report form the Veterinary Officer. They adjourned their enquiry to a later date.
Report Latalomne September 6, 2020 5:26 PM BST
So they've acknowledged that the first was accidental but have still taken it into consideration when deciding how much ground was lost....
Report hulk23 September 6, 2020 5:39 PM BST
the boy the other day in ireland was also inattentive, angling his mount left towards the rail causing not one but two horses to become tight for room and having to take a check off heels and switch around him.

result stood.
Report loper September 6, 2020 5:39 PM BST
Thanks, Latalomne, yes, it appears that they have set a dangerous precedent with this interpretation of the rules.

If I was a connection of the disqualified horse then I would be seriously considering an appeal.
Report Macintoshmatty September 6, 2020 6:04 PM BST
So penalised for the accidental interference at the jump and the run-in incident.
But Burke had more or less gone by the second going to the last so surely would have thought he'd got it beat and so did the smart thing taking the horse over to use the rail for the uphill finish, think it's called race riding, I thought he was actually going away from the second again at the line as well

I'm just bitter!
Report Wesdag September 7, 2020 1:02 PM BST
My understanding is that the only things to consider are whether interference took place & whether it improved the offender's position.

The accidental part is only to determine whether the jockey was at fault & needs sanctioning.

Imo of course.
Report loper September 7, 2020 2:50 PM BST
The problem, Wesdag, is they considered that the interference at the last fence contributed to the ground lost by the 2nd.

Whilst one can't argue against that reasonable assumption, interference at an obstacle has NEVER been taken into account and is ignored for disqualification purposes.

This decision creates a precedent, imho.
Report Wesdag September 7, 2020 3:24 PM BST
Stewards make it up as they go along - another reason why I don't play in stewards anymore.

I remember Willie Mullins made a similar point a few years ago when 1 of his runners was demoted in the Irish GN after interference at the last fence.
Report parispike September 7, 2020 3:46 PM BST
loper, does any Stewards decision actually create a precedent?  Btw I was staggered by the decision but that's another matter.
Report loper September 7, 2020 4:10 PM BST
I take your point, Parispike.

Does that imply that appealing the decision would be a waste of time and money for connections?
Report parispike September 7, 2020 4:40 PM BST
Probably imo. It was an unexpected (well to me anyway) outcome but probably not egregiously so. On that basis I suspect that the stewards verdict being left unchanged would be long odds on. Perhaps telling no talk of an appeal?

Long ago stopped trying to anticipate outcome of SE. I do wonder, but don't know you'd get the data, if some panels are more prone to certain outcomes than others. I certainly sense reversals are more likely at some tracks than others but that's an anecdotal view.
Post Your Reply
<CTRL+Enter> to submit
Please login to post a reply.

Wonder

Instance ID: 13539
www.betfair.com