There is currently 1 person viewing this thread.
Catch Me ifyoucan
21 Feb 20 15:45
Date Joined: 09 Sep 03
| Topic/replies: 18,579 | Blogger: Catch Me ifyoucan's blog
Catch Me ifyoucan • June 22, 2019 6:29 PM BST Huge congratulations to James Sugrue of Mallow GC - The 2019 Amateur Champion at Portmarnock.
James will now play The Open at Portrush, the 2020 US Open and can expect an invitation to The Masters in the post. UP CORK boy !!!!!

But before all that, it's (((((THE GEORGIA CUP)))))

Georgia Tech player, Matt Kuchar won the 1997 United States Amateur Championship and in the Spring of 1998 a new tradition was born, The Georgia Cup hosted at The Golf Club of Georgia.  The Georgia Cup an 18-hole charity match between the reigning United States Amateur Champion and British Amateur Champion.  Matt Kuchar defeated Craig Watson in 1998 to win the first Georgia Cup match. This tradition continues today with a reception following play before the Amateurs head to Augusta to compete in the Masters Tournament.

The 23rd Annual Georgia Cup Match Sunday, March 29, 2020 - will feature a head to head match between another Georgia Tech player, Andy Ogletree (US Amateur Champion) and yar man from 'Malla' JAMES SUGRUE (The British Amateur Champion). The Golf Club of Georgia looks forward to hosting these two elite champions before they make their way to Augusta and compete in the Masters.  The match will take place on the Lakeside Course with tee off scheduled for 6pm (Orish time).

Past Match Results.....
1998 Matt Kuchar (U.S.) def. Craig Watson (British)
1999 Sergio Garcia (British) def. Hank Kuehne (U.S.)
2000 David Gossett (U.S.) def. Graeme Storm (British)
2001 Mikko Ilonen (British) def. Jeff Quinney (U.S.)
2002 Michael Hoey (British) def. Bubba Dickerson (U.S.)
2003 Ricky Barnes (U.S.) def. Alejandro Larrazabal (British)
2004 Gary Wolstenholme (British) def. Nick Flanagan (U.S.)
2005 Ryan Moore (U.S.) def. Stuart Wilson (British)
2006 Brian McElhinney (wee Donegal lad) (British) def. Edoardo Molinari (U.S.)
2007 Richie Ramsay (U.S.) def. Julien Guerrier (British)
2008 Colt Knost (U.S.) def. Drew Weaver (British)
2009 Danny Lee (U.S.) def. Reinier Saxton (British)
2010 Matteo Manassero (British) def. Byeong-Hun An (U.S.)
2011 Peter Uihlein (U.S.) def. Jin Jeong (British)
2012 Bryden Macpherson (British) def. Kelly Kraft (U.S.)
2013 Alan Dunbar (Rathmore/Portrush)(British) def. Steven Fox (U.S.)
2014 Garrick Porteous (British) def. Matt Fitzpatrick (U.S.)
2015 Gunn Yang (U.S.) def. Bradley Neil (British)
2016 Romain Langasque (British) def. Bryson DeChambeau (U.S.)
2017 Scott Gregory (British) def. Curtis Luck (U.S.)
2018 Harry Ellis (British) def. Doc Redman (U.S.)
2019 Jovan Rebula (British) def. Viktor Hovland (U.S.)

Post your reply

Text Format: Table: Smilies:
Forum does not support HTML
Insert Photo
sort by:
per page
‹ back to topics