Welcome to Live View – Take the tour to learn more
Start Tour
There is currently 1 person viewing this thread.
ian merseyside
19 Jun 19 19:49
Date Joined: 08 Jul 06
| Topic/replies: 1,594 | Blogger: ian merseyside's blog
It occurred to me watching over the weekend that Justin Rose must be the best golfer to have only won one major.  Okay, he may win more before he retires, but his US Open win was 6 years ago now.  I checked through the list and probably Fred Couples, David Duval and Paul Azinger are the only notable others.
Pause Switch to Standard View Justin Rose single major
Show More
Report Total Bosman June 19, 2019 7:51 PM BST
Report donny osmond June 19, 2019 8:57 PM BST
theres 82 men won more than one major.

quite a few stuck on one...most of these must have chance of another one

Charl  Schwartzel    2011   
Darren Clarke    2011   
Keegan Bradley    2011   
Webb Simpson    2012   
Adam Scott    2013   
Justin Rose    2013   
Jason Dufner    2013   
Jason Day    2015   
Danny Willett    2016   
Dustin Johnson    2016   
Henrik Stenson    2016   
Jimmy Walker    2016   
Sergio García    2017   
Justin Thomas    2017   
Patrick Reed    2018   
Francesco Molinari    2018
Gary Woodland    2019
Report donny osmond June 19, 2019 8:59 PM BST
davis love , fred couples, tom kite and tom weiskopf only won one each.

its not easy!
Report ian merseyside June 20, 2019 12:56 AM BST
Wow, I didn't realise Dustin Johnson has only one.  Doesn't seem right somehow!
Report bustino June 20, 2019 8:16 AM BST
ya dustin has been unlucky threw away 4 shot lead at pebbles and incurred a two shot penalty at course near Chigago with all the bunkers grounded his club in a bit of sand which was considered a bunker........three ommissions playing today Keegan Bradley Darren Clarke Paul Lauwrie and Jean van der Velt nearly had one lol....looks like a player today needs alot of power in his arsenal but the likes of Zach won fairly recently at Augusta....would be super for Mega winds for open make it a real open similar to the Open Clarke won that was som eweekends golf
Report ian merseyside June 20, 2019 1:22 PM BST
I think it's safe to say Darren Clarke won't win another, but it was one of my favourite days watching golf when he won at Royal St Georges.
Report kincsem June 21, 2019 12:47 PM BST
^ agree
You could see he really enjoyed finishing out on the last green, soaking up the glory.
Report kincsem June 21, 2019 12:53 PM BST
Australian one timers

1 - Jim Ferrier - 1947 PGA Championship
1 - Kel Nagle - 1960 The Open Championship
1 - Wayne Grady - 1990 PGA Championship
1 - Ian Baker-Finch - 1991 The Open Championship
1 - Steve Elkington - 1995 PGA Championship
1 - Geoff Ogilvy - 2006 US Open
1 - Adam Scott - 2013 The Masters
1 - Jason Day - 2015 PGA Championship

New Zealand one timers
1- Bob Charles - 1963 The Open Championship
1- Michael Campbell - 2005 US Open

A surprisingly large number of one time winners there.
Report Total Bosman June 21, 2019 1:21 PM BST
8 years ago Clarke won.  You forget how long DJ has been squandering good positions in majors, sticking one OB that day one of his many fine efforts down the years.
Report drive for show putt for dough June 21, 2019 8:21 PM BST
Think DJ, Ponce, Sergio, Day, Stenson, Louis would all have a strong case to be ahead of Rose
Post Your Reply
<CTRL+Enter> to submit
Please login to post a reply.


Instance ID: 13539