Forums
There is currently 1 person viewing this thread.
Kelly
31 Mar 19 00:07
Joined:
Date Joined: 08 Mar 01
| Topic/replies: 8,699 | Blogger: Kelly's blog
I would have given Sergio his putt from about 10 feet on the next hole and shaken hands on the deal .

Unfortunately sometimes the desire to win clouds judgement .

Think back to Sir Nick at Wentworth  against Graham Marsh , Nick should have given the putt to Graham instead of winning the hole "on the rebound" .

Post your reply

Text Format: Table: Smilies:
Forum does not support HTML
Insert Photo
Cancel
sort by:
Show
per page
Replies: 15
By:
anfeild
When: 31 Mar 19 01:17
Sergio made the mistake. Kuchar nothing to do with it.
By:
anfeild
When: 31 Mar 19 01:17
Kuchar hadn't the chance to concede it. Sergio just being sergio.
By:
stephaniebot
When: 31 Mar 19 11:13
anfeild 31 Mar 19 00:17   

Kuchar hadn't the chance to concede it. Sergio just being sergio.


That pretty much sums it up, whether he would have conceded or not, you have to give him time to do so. Garcia is just an idiot at times
By:
Lion King
When: 31 Mar 19 11:27
All Sergio's fault nothing to do with Kuch. It would have been conceded but Sergio has to wait for the concession but chose to continue. At least Sergio has admitted it was his fault. Unfortunately Sergio is making a habit of being an idiot.
By:
EUGENE KRABS
When: 31 Mar 19 11:44
I think we have learnt two things about Garcia and Kuchar this season;

Garcia - making rapid headway on Rahm and Hatton as the number 1 headbanger in Golf !

Kuchar - you can forget " Good old Matty " he is clearly a man of few morals and totally in love with the good old Yankee Dollar !
By:
Kelly
When: 31 Mar 19 14:42
Accurate summary , Eugene .

Only thing is , if you are playing a volatile person like Sergio , does not mean you forget your own standards .
By:
Total Bosman
When: 31 Mar 19 15:10
Initially it sounded like the rules official had brought it up and Kuchar had tried to give Sergio the putt retrospectively but in Kuchar's interview he said he brought it up to the rules official, which is a whole different matter.  I'm sure being Kuchar it was "Oh gee golly gosh, I didn't actually give Sergio that putt but I sure hope it won't cause him a problem" but the intent would have been the same- he was grassing Sergio in.  Serge obviously made the mistake but Kuch knew what he was doing, and that fits with what we've found out about the guy this year.
By:
Total Bosman
When: 31 Mar 19 15:19
Here's the quote:

“Sergio I saw missed it,” Kuchar said. “And as I looked up again, I saw he had missed the next one. And I saw him off the green, I said, ‘Sergio, I didn’t say anything, I’m not sure how this works out.’ I didn’t want that to be an issue. So I asked [rules official] Robby Ware, I said, ‘Listen, I don’t know how to handle this, but I didn’t concede the putt, Sergio missed the putt.’

If Kuchar didn't want to win a hole that way he could have walked to the next tee and said nothing.
By:
1st time poster
When: 31 Mar 19 15:25
of course someone could make the moemntus ground breaking earth shattering decision to putt everything out, but that would be to easy golf goes out of its way to make itself a laughing stock regards rules on a weekly basis,and if didn't it would make some more rules to make sure it did
By:
1st time poster
When: 31 Mar 19 15:33
to be fait to kooch after the way he lost a major to speith he,s probably decided stick your etiquette where the sun don't shine for the rest of his career,no ones getting anything I don't have to give him
By:
mengmeng
When: 31 Mar 19 15:42
that should just get rid of the rule allowing them to give putts and just treat it as stroke play rules, it does nothing to benefit the game, apart from some illusion of it bringin another dimension to matchplay,by using gamesmanship to unsettle opponents etc.Just mate it so you have to hole out or concede the hole in order to move on to the next. simple and removes any issues like this in the future
By:
Lion King
When: 31 Mar 19 19:21
Surely it is Sergio who has ignored the etiquette of the game. Basic rule of matchplay is putt your ball unless it is conceded. Don't see why Kuch is expected to "let him off".
By:
Total Bosman
When: 31 Mar 19 19:40
Rare moment where I agree with McGinley, but Kuchar knew what he was doing all along and did not need to grass on Sergio over a tiny putt every pro gives.  He's a sly pr1ck and I hope Kis wipes the floor with him.
By:
johnnythebull
When: 31 Mar 19 20:13
better TB..Kuch has a 3 ft putt on the 18th to take it down the 19th and missesWink
By:
Catch Me ifyoucan
When: 11 Apr 19 00:49
KOOCH - the Best Player to Never Win a Major.
sort by:
Show
per page

Post your reply

Text Format: Table: Smilies:
Forum does not support HTML
Insert Photo
Cancel
‹ back to topics
www.betfair.com