Apr 13, 2013 -- 12:44PM, 1st time poster wrote:
woods was openly bragging about he still had a clear head and used the rules to repeat the same shot with the same club, power touch etc,inferring other players wouldnt have had the nouse to do the same,unfortunatly he was to clever for his own good,and probably the easiest DQ ever in the pro game
Yes, except it wasn't.
Apr 14, 2013 -- 7:05AM, flipem wrote:
the important thing to remember is.................the masters rules committee reviewed the drop whilst he was still playing 18 and they were satisfied he had dropped it in the correct place OTHERWISE THEY WOULD HAVE IMPOSED 2 SHOT PENALTY AT END OF ROUND.However.....after listening to his interview they realised there was a mistake with his drop ( I think he just got the rules muddled up, but thats not the issue !! )and they then imposed 2 shot penalty rather than DQ as it was their fault they didn't add penalty to his round. Although Tiger made the mistake, they told him there was no problem with the drop, therefore he signed for his score.Cheating no, ignorant yes, I would like to think they would have done that with other players as well BUT WHO KNOWS ???? Its not the 1st time Masters rules committee have gone against rules of golf. Back in 2009 McIlroy left his ball in bunker after his 1st attempt and then smoothed his footprints. This isnt allowed ( as most golfers know but that rule has now been changed anyway ) but they decided it wasn't in the 'spirit of the game' to DQ him so they didn't even penalise him.
A golf rules committe doesn't have the authority to ignore the rules - they decided that Rory wasn't testing the surface. If they had decided that Tiger's drop was ok as being in the general area of his previous shot that would have been ok as well. But what they did yesterday was say that Woods broke a rule (out of ignorance) signed an incorrect card and allowed him to continue under penalty. There is no rule that allows them to do that.
Apr 14, 2013 -- 11:29AM, Vubiant wrote:
If it was a viewer who raised the alert in this case -are we to assume that
Apparently a viewer did phone in immediately after the drop. The supreme irony is that if they hadn't, the committee wouldn't have privately reviewed the drop and their contrived, confused and erroneous reasoning for not disqualifying Tiger would not have been possible.
Apr 15, 2013 -- 1:25PM, xmoneyx wrote:
it's a diff story USA TV calling him a hero for being only a few shots back after penalty
well obv given what he does for ratings they don't want the gravy train derailed