Forums
Welcome to Live View – Take the tour to learn more
Start Tour
There is currently 1 person viewing this thread.
The Prophet Of Profit
08 Aug 12 18:38
| Topic/replies: 208 | Blogger: The Prophet Of Profit's blog
Has anyone ever tested this rule in court? Im no expert, but it must surely be an unfair contract term. The bet theyre messing me about on is only small stakes, but it would be interesting to test the precedent in court.
Share |
Pause Switch to Standard View Palpable Error - Case Law?
Show More
Report kingmax August 8, 2012 6:40 PM BST
im guessing how big the palp is?
Report The Prophet Of Profit August 8, 2012 6:43 PM BST
Not big. The bet was struck at 9/4, they claim it shouldve been 8/15. Thats hardly the point. Its the actual existence of the palpable error rule. Im sure it would be laughed out of court if anyone ever took it that far.
Report Goalhanger August 8, 2012 6:55 PM BST
If i remember a shop that offers a pair of shoes at 60 pounds that should be 120 and this was a mistake by the attendant have to accept 60 pounds for the purchase, i see no reason why this would be any different.
Report The Magic Flea August 8, 2012 6:58 PM BST
Not big. The bet was struck at 9/4, they claim it shouldve been 8/15.

Shocked

A tiny difference of 30% compared to 65%
Report shudacuda August 8, 2012 6:59 PM BST
goalhanger your wrong with that thinking.

If it was an obvious error they can stick with the correct price.

Anyway the bookies rule is "you are not allowed to win"
Report The Magic Flea August 8, 2012 7:01 PM BST
BTW there is no law that covers the punter in gambling. The best there is is IBAS that if the bookie wants to be registered with them they have to follow their judgement. And IBAS or any sane person in the industry would rule that as a major palpable error
Report The Magic Flea August 8, 2012 7:02 PM BST